Clinton Country Club
|Clinton Country Club|
41 Fairway View Dr.
Mill Hall, PA 17751
view larger map
On Sept. 9, 1908, the Sanderson property along Fishing Creek was purchased and Clinton Country Club was born. At the time, The Express reporter was so impressed by Clinton Country Club that it went on record with its praise, stating “it was as if the fairy wand of magic had touched the picturesque banks of the Bald Eagle and its singing sister, Fishing Creek.” The original recreation areas (where the present practice green and golf cart sheds stand today) included tennis and croquet courts. A boathouse, which held 40 boats, was also built along Bald Eagle Creek, allowing for many years of swimming and boating.
In 1920, a new nine-hole golf course was laid out by the well-known architect, Alexander H. Findlay. In later years, additional land was purchased from Dr. Joseph Magre to add nine holes. Internationally known golf architects, the Ault, Clark & Associates, originally known as the Edmund Ault Ltd., was hired. Edmund Ault Ltd. also designed nearby golf courses such as Iron Masters Country Club, Toftrees Golf Resort and Conference Center and Lewistown Country Club.
The new 18-hole golf course opened for play in 1976 and remains a challenging test for golfers of all skill levels. Clinton is an 18-hole, 6,781-yard championship layout. The natural beauty of the setting is further enhanced by the two creeks that border both sides of the golf course and front of the clubhouse. Attention to detail is the standard for course maintenance, which is accented by an extensive irrigation system.